The Cellphone Killed The Fun in Clubs

20130319-082626.jpg

So, I was out at an elite club in Camps Bay where, while I was on my phone, I looked up and realised something…about 60% of the dance floor was filled with people that was on their phones. It got me thinking, has this phenomenon of Social Media slowly been killing the dance floor?

Don’t you remember the days where people went to clubs to dance, a place where we could meet and be social with our best tunes playing through massive 18 inch speakers. Those were the days. It’s practically impossible for anyone to leave the house without having your cellphone on your person, and now it seems its creeping into an environment where people use to be away from all the madness that is the world.

So I took this a step further and walked around the said club and glanced at the phones of those who were using them and it was the usual suspects; BBM, Facebook, Twitter. People frantically updating their status’ for their ‘loser’ friends that aren’t at the hot party they are at. Yet, they are the people updating their status in the same hot club? Who the loser now?

I will admit that I have fallen victim to this practice, and I apologise. I don’t know why I do it, however it seems fun…I normally just read these status’ and make comments in my head, lol. I’m judgy in clubs, hey. I actually got this idea for this blog while I was in a club, lol, this is a vicious cycle.

I don’t see this practice slowing down anytime soon. It’s something we got to learn to live with, or I have to learn to live with it 🙂 as long as we get together and get down to the beats of those hard working DJs.

Thanks for reading.

Peace,
JJ

Leave a comment