Happy Birthday!

DSC_2512

So, I turned 30. Could not be any happier, I for one, like getting older…the closer I get to become that old guy, who will be in the line at the mall complaining about the old days, only kidding…will be complaining on whatever social media sites will still be around, ain’t nobody got time for face to face confrontation.

But, I just celebrated my 30th had a bit of a soiree, a themed thing, must be me all grown up and things, my idea of a party moved from a hip-hop theme, to a house party, to a Great Gatsby theme where everyone was all dressed up and things. Credit to bae though for pulling the idea off, my directive to her was, “Love, I just want to wear a suit” – and that is how we ended up with a 1920’s themed 30th.

In preparation, we had to get dresses from some dodgy Chinese shops (the 3 sisters looked great, tbh), and then go to China Town for decor (full circle). Lots of planning for venue scouting, guest list deciding, food picking, snack picking, felt like the wedding again, even got my invites made by the same lady, was great fun. Decided to keep it small, went with the exclusive feel, mother in law made thank you gifts which made that feeling a little bit more real.

The highlight of the planning was me selecting the music for the party, took me about 7 days went through music from 1987 (year I was born) to 2017, selected over 350 songs, with a play range of over a day for a party lasting 5 hours ๐Ÿ˜ž took me another couple of days to select my favourite songs, and then my favourite, favourite songs. Rearranged it to make sure that it had a build up, leading to dancy songs, to chill down music. Sounds boring, was totes exciting to me ๐Ÿ˜Šย and hey, I got to DJ at my own party, that was lots of fun.

If you are subscriber to Apple Music, a playlist of the music that played on the night.

Actually had the idea to write this post to thank everyone for coming, for dressing up, for celebrating my birthday with me. Thanks for the gifts, I leka have new clothes (work clothes) such a great idea, for my 40th, going to request smart casual clothes ๐Ÿ˜Š I hope everyone that was there enjoyed themselves, you guys are great.

Special shout out to Darcell (from A girl and her camera) for the amazing pictures of everyone on the night ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks for reading.

Justin

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

